Household Chores and my Issues with them

I hate having chores. More often than not I can’t bring myself to do them. To me they feel like I’m being used as someone’s maid or servant and deep down I have a feeling of “you don’t deserve that I do anything for you that makes your life easier” that goes with it.

It’s an irrational feeling, because my mom now sure doesn’t deserve that attitude. I suppose it’s a reaction that feeds off past experiences and the emotions that go with it, which are buried way deep where it’s hard to recognize, much less get rid of them. At first we tried a lot of things that were suggested by the therapists. Chore charts. Earning crap stars. Like a first grader. I was supposed to make my own plan. I got to use dad’s photo software thingy. That part was fun.

my pretty chore chart, lol

Then I was done, we printed it, and put it up as a reminder. All it acomplished was to give us shit days. I was angry at being reminded of the chores all the time, mom was exhausted and I didn’t do the chores. Willfully. Because I hated the idea.

If I get a chore, I usually don’t do it. Or do it only grudgingly and with anger eating at me, even when I try to be positive about it.

I am, however, okay with helping. I actually like to be helpful. Sometimes. Funny how one little word can make such a difference.

“Can you please do your chores now?!” –  nasty feelings and ugly response.
“Can you give me a hand, honey? I could use your help.” – way easier.

Around the house I help with cooking, with setting the table, with cleaning stuff – as mom is the one who’s home with me, and I don’t do alone well, whatever my mom does, I at least sit on the sidelines and after a while I often help. Just because I can. And want to. Because we talk and smile and occasionally laugh doing it. Because I like the way my mom smiles when I offer to help. And because she doesn’t get angry if I don’t want to, or choose to be “helpful” by upsetting what she’s doing to get her attention. 😉

But give me chores, any kind of chores, and I’m out of there. I wonder if that ever goes away.

Comments are closed.

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

