“STOP THAT! YOU’RE ACTING CRAZY!” aka: shit that makes me livid

So I was looking around the internet for stuff on emotional maturity, and found some guys paper or whatever it is! I skim it, find it so-so, and then way down the pages, the last thing it says is:

“Two prominent psychiatrists, Glasser and Harrington, did a study of patients in a mental hospital, and came up with the following opinion:

‘There is no such thing as mental illness. These are people who have mastered the art of irresponsibility. They pass the buck to other people. There is a moment when they have an opportunity to choose their course of behavior. Some people are childlike, never having grown up. They must be taught to assume responsibility for their own behavior. When they start a tantrum, command them STOP THAT! YOU’RE ACTING CRAZY!’

Isn’t that just a sound slap in the face of anyone who’s struggling, day for fucking day, to live with the mess their life is?! Where did those psychiatrists get their diplomas? Won it at the lottery?

It’s not like I don’t agree with the statement that there are people who’re childlike and function on the emotional level a child would. I’m probably one of them. But it’s not like that’s a decision because I’m an irresponsible dumbfuck who figures why take the hard way when I can just act crazy! Gosh, I feel like this is among the most disrespectful things I’ve ever heard drs say! Like “Stop that! You’re acting crazy!” is gonna make an iota of a difference. The paper claims 70 % of the patients treated by them were able to live happily ever after once they were done being treated, but somehow I doubt it. They probably claimed to be healed to finally escape the nutjob shrinks. I sure would have!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sparrow
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 05:05:15

    Fuck that. I agree with the never having grown up statement too, but in that respect, I feel we should be treated gently like you would treat a child in distress (or anyone in distress, for that matter), not told we’re acting crazy. They make it sound like it’s so easy to snap out of.

    • Lola
      Oct 24, 2012 @ 06:18:35

      I feel the same way. Nobody’s gonna learn anything healthy by being told to snap out of it. Gentle does it for me, too. That these weird shrinks are people with authority in power positions, deciding over the fate of patients freaks me out.

  2. vwoopvwoop
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 11:48:42

    that’s really weird and jolting to read. i don’t really see how yelling at a schizophrenic would help them to stop having hallucinations. i do see how yelling at me to stop it would scare me into hiding, so in that way they’d probably think they’d “cured” me of my illness when really it would just be stuffed down because of being traumatized by such awful therapists.
    i guess there is a part of me that wishes the yelling worked, because wow that would be easier wouldn’t it? i could just be like, OH RIGHT, sorry, i’ll get right to being a productive member of society now that you have shamed me! ha.

    • Lola
      Oct 24, 2012 @ 14:14:48

      Ha, yes, I can just see them nutty shrinks yelling at poor schizophrenics. Or a catatonic. And ka-ching – they’re all healed! (Sounds rather delusional, if you ask me, but of course never dare say anything like that about your shrink, else it’s surely YOU having the delusions, no matter how fucked up your shrink is.) Anyway, I suppose if that crap actually worked, no parents would ever have trouble with their kids. Even the most messed-up parents can usually yell “cut that crap” just fine. I know mine could. Sure didn’t make me any healthier.

      And like you I think I’d just get scared and shut up, but not because I’m better. Speak of re-traumatization. Just plain awful.

  3. mightyplans
    Oct 24, 2012 @ 16:36:38

    I take to this the way my Nan used to take to woodchucks… If something-or someone- pissed her off she used to say “They should be treated like a woodchuck” (in other words, taken outback and blown out with a 22 gage. 🙂 It often makes one feel good to picture it. 🙂

    • Lola
      Oct 24, 2012 @ 17:17:53

      When you think of woodchucks, I always think of Dorothy Parker’s poem “Frustration”. It goes:

      If I had a shiny gun,
      I could have a world of fun
      Speeding bullets through the brains
      Of the folk who give me pains;

      Or had I some poison gas,
      I could make the moments pass
      Bumping off a number of
      People whom I do not love.

      But I have no lethal weapon-
      Thus does Fate our pleasure step on!
      So they still are quick and well
      Who should be, by rights, in hell.

      Love that poem!! 🙂

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

