Needing Feedback to Feel Like I Still Exist

I am like a cup with a hole in the bottom. Getting feedback about myself from others fills me while it lasts, but as soon as it stops, I become empty. I stop feeling like I am there, which is an unsettling feeling. It feels like losing everything. Like dying. On some days it gets so bad that I can’t let mom go to the bathroom without bugging her from outside the door, so she keeps talking to me. If she talks to me, it means there is someone there she can talk to. I exist. I am there.

Sometimes I wake up at night for no particular reason, and feel so unreal, like I might be dead and not even there anymore, a ghost maybe. It’s so unsettling that I always wake mom just to see if she can still see me and hear me and touch me. Having her confirm that I am still there makes the feeling go away and I feel normal again.

I think this might be a PTSD thing more than a borderline thing. Or maybe both contributes. It’s like without feedback I start to become convinced that I am not there anymore. It’s been that way ever since I remember. I used to feel like I was not really there a lot.

I have memories of my mother ignoring me. I would walk up to her and say something, and she would neither react, nor show that she had heard or seen me at all. I have one clear memory in which I say to her “I’m going outside”, expecting an acknowledgement. In my memory she is standing in the kitchen, wiping down the table, and I am standing in the door, because she doesn’t like it when I enter the kitchen. She just kept scrubbing the table. I say again “I’m going outside, Etta”, and she turns away to rinse the cloth. In my memory I finally enter the kitchen and touch her, to which she now reacts. She gives me a hard shove and a death stare that says “fuck off while you still can”. I repeat “I’m going outside”, but as I step away she is already wiping down the table again.

I don’t know whether getting ignored like that is traumatizing in itself, but I suppose it is some kind of abandonment. Like, not physically, but emotionally. Like an ongoing kind of abandonment, right in the presence of people.

Today I still feel the same, like I am still that kid who feels invisible. Still looking for that “me” in abandonment. Wondering if there is any “me” left at all. If there ever was a “me” in the first place. I feel like I stop being there if I don’t get feedback. I’m afraid that makes me exhausting to be around.

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.