What puts meaning into my life?

I have been skyping with my oldest sister yesterday night. We’ve been talking about how I’m struggling with all this extra shit every Christmas and New Years’ and I explained a little about how it felt. She listened and then asked me ‘That sounds so hard, what makes it worth it?” She is direct like that.

I was cross with her for catching me off-guard with the question, and because I thought it sounded criticizing, somehow. So I didn’t reply, but kept thinking about the question anyway. What makes life worth the crap? Worth the pain? Worth the seemingly unending struggle?

I don’t really know for sure, but something makes it worth it. Something makes it meaningful.

I’m wondering what it is. I need to go back to the question, it seems like it would be beneficial to know. Right now I only have this vague feeling that somehow it’s worth the struggle. I didn’t always feel this way, but at the moment I do.

I really need to give it some more thought.

In the meantime, I made another snapshot of my Christmas pressie doll. Just because I felt like it. I think she’s pretty. She also smiles like maybe she knows the answer to my question. If only I could figure out how to make her talk. 😉

Lola's doll

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mightyplans
    Jan 02, 2013 @ 20:37:39

    John 3:16 is what makes it worth it. I will never preach to you… ever… but… Sweetie, that has gotten me through some things that would make even your hair curl. 🙂
    Anyway… on other sides, you have family that loves you and people (and myself) here who care to see you do well.
    And YOU are what’s worth it. As idiotic and cleche as that sounds, it took me many years to figure that one out and even I have lost sight of that recently myself. 🙂 So your post helped me too.
    xo

    • Lola
      Jan 02, 2013 @ 20:45:20

      Thank you for the kind words, mightyplans! 🙂 You’re right, my family is probably a big part of what makes it worth it and what puts meaning into my life. Well, and I am what what’s worth it, too, I suppose, even when that’s the hardest one to acknowledge. Thank you for reminding me! Hey, and I’m extra happy if I helped you, too, in any way! 🙂

  2. Clayton
    Jan 03, 2013 @ 01:41:43

    Wow you did a ton of posts today. 🙂 Good job 🙂

    This is an interesting question. :/

    • Lola
      Jan 03, 2013 @ 06:40:01

      Yeah, I really did post a ton today, didn’t I?! :-/ I guess I’m on a little New Year’s high or something. 🙂 😉

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

