10 Things I Really Like

Okay, to focus on something nice after the crappy night, I’m going to do a list of 10 things that I really like today. I feel like I can use some positivity. So here we go, things that I really like. Not obvious stuff like my family, who I love, but proper “things” that either physically exist or happen.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Waking up to daylight with my mom next to me.

I really like it when that happens. Waking up to daylight instead of dreaded darkness is already pretty good, but waking up and being close to my mom, maybe even in her arms, beats anything.

  • Hot Chocolate that is just the right temperature.

Neither too cold, nor to hot, but just a perfect level of warm, so that I can drink it right away without having to sip while I wait for it to cool some. I really like it when that happens.

  • Having a perfectly in-tune and connected moment with someone.

I don’t really know how to describe that, really. Hm… the kind of thing that happens when I feel like I really connect with someone – with mom, usually – and don’t need to hold back or hide, and her feelings match mine. It can be a fun moment when we’re laughing, or a close and gentle moment, or one that is positively exciting. It kind of feels like our hearts touching when it happens. It’s the best thing to happen.

  • Listening to P!nk with my Dad’s headphone, really loud.

I love everything about most of P!nk’s songs. I love the lyrics, love the melodies, love the harmonies, love P!nk’s voice, love the rhythm, everything. There’s a song to match pretty much any of my moods. And the best thing is to listen with Dad’s really good headphone and turning the volume way up. Perfect!

  • Swinging.

I love swings. I love the tickle in my stomach when I go fast on a swing, or when I swing with my eyes closed, leaning as far back as I can. We have a swing at home. It’s one of the best. things. ever.

  • Realizing I affected someone positively.

It makes me really happy when I learn that something I did or said was meaningful to someone. Like when people here give me a comment and say that some thing I wrote touched them or affected them in a good way. Or when I could give a kid a “lucky ride” on a kiddy ride. Those things make me very happy.

  • Unexpected joy.

Like when something goes wrong and I’m already halfway to a glum mood, but then someone points out something that’s genuinely funny about it. Or when I’m bored and suddenly mom slides me a squirt gun to match her own and gives me five seconds to run. Anything that is fun and unexpected.

  • When something I do turns out nice.

Like when I draw something, or write something, or plan something, and it turns out exactly as I had hoped, with no disappointments, and I feel good about it. That’s awesome.

  • Seeing kindness in people.

I really love that. Not only when people are nice to me, but when people are kind to others in general. That touches me and makes me happy. It makes me happy that the comments I get here on my blog are very kind. It gives me faith in people. It makes my day nicer. It makes me want to be my best self, too.

  • Laughing so much that I can’t breathe.

It doesn’t happen very often, because I have a hard time just being in high spirits without restraint and fear and guilty feelings, but ever so often it happens. I love it when it happens. I love the feeling of there being more hilarity than I can contain and I love the kind of positive exhaustion that comes from laughing really much.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’m sure there are even more things that I really, really like, but those are the first ten that came to my mind. What do you all like best?

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. prideinmadness
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 14:41:53

    You are really inspiring me to talk about my sexual assaults and especially after a fight with my partner last night where I was smacked in the face of how I let my past control our relationship I don’t think I can run from it anymore.

    Thank you 🙂

    • Lola
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:25:32

      Thank you. 🙂 That’s so sweet to say that I’m inspiring you. Sometimes it just takes however long it takes to get to a point where you feel like the time has come to face something. I hope that whenever you choose to talk about your sexual assaults will be a good time and that it will be helpful. Just make sure you are safe! 🙂

  2. kat
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 18:48:34

    I like being able to ‘catch’ and see spontaneous moments of joy and happiness, like when my dog is walking so excitedly and is so wrapped up in what she sees and smells, or like when my kids are doing something alone that I catch and I see them being so happy, or content, or when I am doing something with my kids and we are all enjoying ourselves together, like playing a game or watching a show.

    Thanks for sharing your moments!

    • Lola
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:50:03

      Thanks for sharing your moments of joy and happiness, kat! I love those spontaneous moments, and being able to recognize them when they happen! They are like little magic sparkles! 🙂

  3. lostservice22
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 20:09:19

    P!nk Rocks!!!

  4. oddball100
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 22:18:52

    I’ve only being doing this for, well, not even a week, but I have been going a bit crazy on it and looking at a lot of different blogs in many different styles, about loads of different things, and already, yours is one of the most inspirational things that I’ve read here. Not that everyone else’s aren’t amazing, it’s just that your’s is so brave and true, and I admire what you are doing so much, thank you. 🙂

    • Lola
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 17:08:35

      That’s so kind and sweet of you to say. I’m really and truly happy if you find my blog inspirational. It’s always good when something positive comes from something crap in the end. I’m glad. Thank you. 🙂

  5. Diversity is Art
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 23:24:17

    I love that list 🙂 I think if I did a list it would be similar to this one, maybe I will do a list too, it’s good to remember the things we like and not only the bad side of life.

    I found your blog not too long ago but everything you wrote that I have read has been meaningful for me, made me feel less alone, you look like a very kind person and it’s always good to meet people that like having a positive effect on others so thank you for writing this blog.

    Now I need to listen to P!nk because I don’t know her music yet.

    • Lola
      Jan 07, 2013 @ 17:14:39

      Yes, it’s important to remember the good, too. Else we’d probably become all crapped in. Not good.

      Thank you so much for the kind words. Thinking that my blog might have a positive effect on others, even if it’s only a small one, is a really good thought. I’m glad if I can contribute a little bit to making you feel less alone. Feeling alone really sucks. But you are not alone. And I always appreciate your comments. So thank you, again. 🙂

      And you absolutely NEED to go listen to P!nk, if you don’t know her music yet! I love her because her music is bold and energetic and her songs are about lots of stuff that I can relate to, but not in a depressing kind of way. I love P!nk! 🙂 (Go for the explicit versions of her songs, if you can! 😉 )

  6. Trackback: 10 Things I Really Don’t Like « Who needs normal?!
C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

