10 Things I Really Don’t Like

After yesterday’s 10 Things I Really like, I figure it makes sense to do ten things I don’t like also. I won’t name the no-brainer obvious ones, like ‘war’ or ‘poverty’ or ‘people doing mean things’, even when I really dislike those things a LOT, because if I named all those a list of ten wouldn’t really suffice. I’ll name annoyances that are more everyday and seemingly small, but nonetheless much disliked by me instead.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

  • Having this really awesome thing to tell, and nobody to listen.

I hate it when that happens. I have a good idea, or something cool happened and I want to tell mom, but she’s on the phone or busy with something else. It’s especially nasty when it’s something that kind of lives with the energy of the moment, so that when later mom asks “what was it that you wanted to tell me”, I feel all like “meh, forget it, it’s over”.

  • Waking up from sleep, ready to start the day, and realizing it’s the middle of the night.

This one sucks real bad. Everyone is still asleep, I feel uneasy alone in the dark, I know I really should go back to sleep, but I’m wide awake, like it was morning already. There’s nowhere to go, because I freak wandering through the house by myself at night, I can’t just go back to sleep either, and it’s still forever until morning. I usually take my notebook and go sit by mom’s side, surfing the internet while she sleeps, but it still sucks.

  • Going to get that last piece of candy that I saved, then realizing I already ate it.

The disappointing moment when I look at my candy hideaway, pleasantly anticipating a yummy treat, then finding the hideaway empty. What a bummer. Double bummer when a vague memory of having unwrapped and eaten the candy returns and I can’t even blame anyone else.

  • Being the only one to laugh about my joke.

Okay, so maybe I’m easily amused, but I find my knock-knock jokes funny. Not so funny when nobody else does. I mean, come on, they’re funny. Kinda. Okay, so maybe not to everyone, but can you at least smirk? Please?

  • Everyone having something to do while I am bored.

Happens very often, but that doesn’t make it any nicer. Everyone is busy with something, they are content with what they do – but I am endlessly bored. It’s not my fault if I then go and annoy them, or is it?! After all, it really sucks to be bored so bad I might die from it, and nobody even sharing the pain.

  • Anyone who grows a beard and sports a Justin Bieber hairstyle.

You know, the awful sideways swept bangs-in-the-eyes thing. Especially when they then also do the hair flip every five seconds. Okay, I know it’s their hair, not mine, but it looks ridiculous. Young teenage boys can still pull it off and manage to look halfway cute, but if you have to shave in the morning, just . . . don’t do it. It doesn’t have an insta-cool effect. At all. I promise. ‘kay?!

  • Listening to P!nk on the radio and the song fading out before it’s over.

Seriously! If you don’t have enough time to play the whole song, why not pick a shorter one? Why fade it out before it’s over? I mean when you go to a restaurant the server doesn’t pull the old plate away before you’re finished eating either, or does he?! It’s so annoying when I sit in the car and one of my favorite songs plays and then it just ends before it’s over. NOT GOOD!

  • People who don’t get it, but think they do.

Oh, that’s so terrible when it happens. I’ve had it happen a lot with past therapists. You know, those situations where you explain something, and the other person goes “ah, yes, I totally understand” and you realize no, they don’t. They have it wrong. And you point it out, as politely as you can (naturally 😉 ) and the other person still thinks she totally got it, no matter what you do. Can you spell frustration?!?!?!

  • Having bought something and then finding it for sale at a bargain price a day later.

Needs no explaining. At all.

  • When you try to get something to work over and over again and then someone else comes and manages at the first try.

Isn’t that so annoying?! You try to work something out, grow convinced it must be real tricky, and then someone else (for example your stupid brother) comes along, says with an air of superiority “hey, let me try” and you reluctantly let him have a shot, looking forward to seeing him fail just as miserably – and then he manages at the first try. I really hate it when that happens.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

How about you? What do you really not like?

43 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kyle Stanly
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 20:21:56

    I’ve a question regarding the things that you said you hate? You stated that when you’re bored, you want someone to share that pain with you? Is that a common trait of BPD? I understa- I KIND OF understand the feeling of being constantly bored, as I always am even sometimes when doing something, would it be possible for someone BPD to do an activity by themselves instead seeking someone else to ‘share the pain’? Is it that if you feel miserable, everyone else must as well to make you feel better about yourself? I do not mean to sound callous, and I apologize if I trigger something, but I’m just rather curious, y’know how curious us Non’s are, right? (I believe Non was the term, right? It’s used all over the BPD forums on Psych Forums) Kind of from what I’m gathering here, there’s a lot of narcissistic traits, or at least from what I’m reading, and a lot of self-pity, with a disregard for others, notably your loved ones? On the last bit, would you prefer everyone to fail as you were to? Now, when I say fail, I mean you may inevitably come to succeed, but another has done so before you. Would you rather be stuck on the same problem and get frustrated (and who knows what else… would something like that trigger a psychological regression?) until you give up or eventually get it (and feel satisfied, possibly?) or have someone help you?

    Most likely I am making your mood worsen by asking all of these questions, but as you said, since I do not suffer from it (at least I don’t think I do) I do not and can not understand.

  2. vwoopvwoop
    Jan 07, 2013 @ 21:47:40

    sideswept bangs, haha, really made me laugh. 🙂

    i totally agree with the one about people who think and act like they “get it” but then they totally don’t. omg annoys me SO MUCH. like…dude…stop, you don’t understand, it’s okay that you don’t understand, just please stop acting like you do.

    this is interesting, you have a candy stash? i’ve been trying to help my sister figure out ways to deal with her food issues, and this is an interesting idea. i’m not sure she would be good at rationing them, she has a history of just sort of eating the entirety of whatever is in front of her, but this is something maybe we could work on. like if she knew she had a secret stash and practiced rationing, like, deciding she could only have so many in a day, and then being reinforced that no one else is ever going to steal them so she doesn’t have to eat the rest right away. hmm.

    • Lola
      Jan 08, 2013 @ 09:20:14

      Aren’t people who persistently think they get it and totally don’t so annoying?! Glad I’m not the only one who is bothered by that! 🙂

      And yeah, I have a candy stash. See, while I rationally trust my family not to take stuff that is mine, my feelings think that if given the opportunity, they wouldn’t hesitate to take my things. So I’m all like “mine, mine, mine!!!” about my candy and fret that they will help themselves to it if I leave it lying around. So I hide it. It’s not a really secret hiding place, mom knows where my candy is, but it makes a difference to me that my candy stash is in my own room, not in the kitchen or pantry or so. It helps me with not eating everything at once out of fear that someone else will beat me to it. It still requires a conscious effort on my side, though, and an awareness of the problem. My feelings still kind of command “eat it!!!! Fast!!!!” when I have (or happen across) something good. Good luck with helping your sister find a good solution for her food issues! I know how much those can suck.

  3. lostservice22
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 00:00:23

    that last one always gets me. I sit there feeling like I just did nothing useful at all in my attempts to fix it.

  4. prideinmadness
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 00:37:37

    I bought a shirt once for $100 CDN and then found it online for $40…even with shipping it would have came to $70….I was furious.

    I should do a list like this! Last year I did 101 Things that Make Me Happy. Maybe I should do 101 things that make me mad?

    • Lola
      Jan 08, 2013 @ 09:26:57

      OH NO!!! That sucks so bad!

      Hey, and if you do a list of 101 things that make you mad, I look forward to reading it! 🙂

      • prideinmadness
        Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:04:04

        I never went back to that store lol

        I’ll start working on it after I see my social worker. Some of the stuff that makes me mad is funny. When you have to think of 101 things you can get silly nit picky :p

        • Lola
          Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:09:04

          I wouldn’t have gone back to that store eather. Rip-offs.

          Hehe, and yeah, I can imagine how you’d get nitpicky (and funny) when you have to come up with 101 things! I look forward to it! 😀

  5. nobodysreadingme
    Jan 08, 2013 @ 11:25:58

    Working from the top
    Wanting to talk and nobody to tell. Yep. Things are often of the moment, and as you say it’s there then it’s gone.
    Early morning waking. Happens to me nearly every night. Usually wide awake and ready to rock’n’roll and it’s only 3:00 AM. Bummer
    Can’t comment on the candy as i really do not like sweet things. Running out of pickled gherkins (I think you may know them as dill pickles) is a major bummer for me though 🙂
    Your joke falls flat? Welcome aboard. BTW I like knock knock jokes
    Bored? Can’t help you, I’m afraid. It just doesn’t happen. If i can’t read I can write, or plan what I’m going to write
    BEARDS Suck. Unless you’re Captain Birdseye, DO NOT GROW ONE. This applies especially to those stupid beards without moustaches that make the man lookk like a Belgian rocket scientist. JUST SAY NO. And under no circumstances have a beard and a Flock of Seagulls haircut. Even a goatee or soul patch is verboten.
    Fading out before the end of the track? Bring back hanging for this.
    Anyone who says ‘I totallu understand,’ DOESN’T! End of story. I have a lot of people tell me a lot of things (I wanted to train to be a therapist but ran out of money), and the line I always use, without fail, is this. ‘I don’t I can’t know how you feel. But I do know how I felt when something similar happened to me.’
    More annoying than the effects of sales reductions are when you’ve bought something you’re really chuffed with, and some numbnuts says ‘They’ve got them for 75 quid less than that down at XXX.’ They should bring back hanging fot that as well 🙂
    Someone gets something right first time. Smile sweetly and say ‘Aahh, beginner’s luck.’

    Other things. People who whistle tunelessly through their teeth
    Little old ladies who believe that because they’re 82 years old (and they always tell you) have a god given right to push to the front of a queue
    I could go on but there’s plenty more on my blog as you well know. In fact I put up a post this morning about Are you a male dork? You’ll like that

    • Lola
      Jan 08, 2013 @ 13:50:21

      I really enjoyed your list, Dunk! Thanks for sharing! 🙂 Haha, and I totally agree about the beards! I find beards (especially those everywhere beards) quite creepy anyway (sorry to anyone who has one). It always makes me think of those bank robbers in the western movies who pull their kerchief up over their nose to conceal their identity.

      Oh, and I’ll try to remember the “beginner’s luck” line! 🙂 Will go and check out your male dork post, too! 🙂

      • nobodysreadingme
        Jan 08, 2013 @ 13:52:17

        I like the bank robber simile

        • Lola
          Jan 08, 2013 @ 13:55:29

          Thanks! 🙂 I certainly find bearded men equally suspicious. I mean how do I know what goes on behind those beards when I can’t even properly see their face??

          • nobodysreadingme
            Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:06:04

            I suspect they’re just really hideously ugly. Not disfigured. Just damned ugly
            In the film sommersby there’s a great quote about what happens to a man’s face when he’s had a beard and shaves it off.
            ‘It’s kinda like his mouth shrinks.’
            Hahahahaha

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:11:35

              Hahahahaha, that’s hilarious! 😀

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:15:32

              And no, i have never had a beard. Had a dodgy moustache in the Eighties, but everybody did

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:34:27

              I suppose everybody is kind of absolved from what they did in the 80s, fashion wise. What a weird decade. Not that the 90s were drastically better, but at least a little. Just don’t tell me you had a mullet, too? Please?

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:35:19

              Errrrmmmmm………….

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:36:45

              Errr….okay… I’ll blame the 80s. 😉

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 14:41:31

              I wouldn’t mind but i looked like a member of any AOR band you care to mention and I hated them all.
              I hated Spandau Ballet too, so that must surely go in my favour

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 15:11:57

              Yikes. I just image googled the term AOR band and uhm…. I’m glad you cut your hair since! And I have absolutely no idea what (who?) Spandau Ballet is (are?), but it sounds kinda dubious…

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 15:13:33

              Part of the UK New Romantic musical genre. Google them and despair. Actually google Images for Duran Duran will give you a better idea

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 15:16:48

              Ooooh, just did! What can I say… this one Duran Duran guy who looks like he has makeup on… interesting. Not that it doesn’t suit him. But it’s definitely… different. 😉

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 15:19:00

              Make up was de rigueur for the New Romantics. Duran Duran were pretty good, Spandau Ballet were truly awful. Have a look for any publicity pictures of Tony Hadley. He had Dork written all over him

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:15:04

              Haha, yeah, Tony Hadley looks a bit dorky! 😀

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:22:19

              A bit? A BIT? Are you sure you aren’t a Brit? With that level of insouciant understatement you’d be a natural

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:25:42

              Hahaha! I’m just trying to be a really polite chick. Go figure. 😀 And thanks. Maybe I could be an honorary Brit. As long as I’m not required to say mum. 😉 But then, I suppose that would be a requirement, or would it?

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:33:19

              Not absolute, Mater if you are really posh. Mama if you are very posh. Mummy if you are just a bit posh. Mam if you’re common
              🙂

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:44:38

              I actually call my mom ‘mama’ around the house when nobody’s listening. I might pronounce it in a different way than a Brit would, though. 😉 Does it still count?

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:49:10

              English pronounce it mamaa, emphasis on the second syllable which is a long a sound.
              You’ll pick it up
              I think it’s nice you told me you call mom mama when you’re shy or reticent about it. Thanks

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:55:56

              You’re welcome. 🙂

              I pronounce it with an emphasis on the first a, though, and I have a slight suspicion that my a might sound different than a Brit’s a would.

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 16:57:17

              Mamaa. Have a go. You’ll sound dead posh
              ;D

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:00:21

              I end up sounding more like a silly French chipmunk when I say it with an emphasis on the second a. Complete with one of those long breads under my arm. 😀

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:01:51

              Never mind, you gave it your best shot.
              I can’t say the US word bucks for dollars without sounding like an eejit

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:04:07

              Hihi. I can’t say ‘dance’ the way the Brits do without feeling really funny. Can you say ‘mall’, as in ‘shopping mall’?

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:07:07

              My version is mall rhymes with pal.
              Can’t get to grips with the mawl thing. I sound like a dork

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:11:20

              Maybe you should say ‘lotsa shops place’ instead. 😛 I sound like a real dork saying ‘daahnce’, hehe. I admire it when people can do a flawless british accent, though! Sounds so posh! 😀 By the way what DO you guys call a mall? Not the pal-mall word, or do you?

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:20:01

              You may be wrong about me here. I’m from Lancashire; a dance is a dance not a dahnce.
              We call it a mall, or a shopping centre more often, though mall is taking off among tenagers.
              Pall Mall is a corruption of pell mell, meaning to ride a horse too fast and dangerously. Regency bucks used to race pell mell down the avenue that hence became known as Pall Mall.
              Pall Mall is not the same as The Mall, which is the broad avenue from Admiralty Arch to Buckingham Palace, and forms the northern boundary of Hyde Park
              Confused yet?
              😉

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:29:53

              Haha! Yeah, you lost me somewhere between corruptions and London. That IS where the Buckingham Palace is, right? (Who’s the dork now. Sorry. I really suck at the school kind of knowledge.)

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:36:16

              Yes it’s in London. Don’t feel too bad; I’m not sure hwere the Smithsonian is. Washington?
              I’m gonna have to go. I’m in a library and it shuts shortly.
              Nice chatting, and I’m glad it’s brightened up your day; it certainly has brightened mine.
              If you get the chance to check out Charlie, i’d really appreciate. But please don’t feel under pressure, and don’t let it distress you if it’s too near the mark for you to read.
              I’ll be back rouind tomorrow
              Have a peaceful rest of the day

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:39:37

              I really have no idea about the Smithsonian either. I suck real bad at stuff like that.

              Thank you, too, for the chating. Definitely brightened my day, especially after today’s difficult post earlier, and I’m happy if it brightened yours, too. I’ll check out Charlie a little later today when mom and I come back from running errands. 🙂 Have a peaceful rest of the day as well! 🙂

            • Lola
              Jan 08, 2013 @ 17:29:53

              Haha! Yeah, you lost me somewhere between corruptions and London. That IS where the Buckingham Palace is, right? (Who’s the dork now. Sorry. I really suck at the school kind of knowledge.)

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

