Little Lola’s outfit is coming together

Look what mom surprised me with yesterday. She had bought shoes and sewed a shirt for Little Lola and when we returned from our little trip to the mountains yesterday, I got to pick an iron-on thingy to go on it and found the PERFECT one! πŸ˜€

Doesn’t Little Lola look awesome in the new outfit?? I can’t wait for the pants to get finished!

click to enlarge

click to enlarge

She still needs some approproate bracelets. I’mΒ also considering whether I should use the pink marker I ‘dyed’ her hair with to draw a little on the white caps of her shoes. Like a little pink star maybe. Or a skull. Hmmmmm…..

42 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nobodysreadingme
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 11:55:48

    Fantastic. She looks so different now from when she became yours.
    It would be easy to assign some deep significance to this, but I won’t insult you.
    Terrific. Nice photo too

    • Lola
      Jan 16, 2013 @ 12:01:01

      Thanks! She really does look like a different doll than the one that came out of the box! But this is really quite close to what I had imagined turning her into. Hehe! Before my mind’s eye, that’s what she looked like all along.

      Hehe, and now I am really curious what deep insulting significance you would assign to this??? That I am a weirdo? I know that much already. πŸ˜‰

      • nobodysreadingme
        Jan 16, 2013 @ 12:05:31

        Cheap psychbabble would say that Lola’s transformation is a symbol of your beginning to transform. That’s probably a load of nonsense, so that’s why I didn’t insult you with it.

        I’m glad she’s turning out just the way you saw, and just the way you want.
        For some obscure reason I’m rather moved by that, but in a nice way. Can I say that? Is that OK?

        • Lola
          Jan 16, 2013 @ 12:11:32

          Ha, you know, I actually feel like Little Lola is helping me transform in some way. Like I kind of get a little sliver of power over what happens to me, even when this version of ‘me’ is just a little doll. Which probably boils down to: yeah, I’m a weirdo. πŸ˜‰

          And hey, sure you can say that you’re rather moved that she turns out the way I want. It makes me real happy that she turns out so nicely and hapiness is a good emotional movement. So yeah, all okay πŸ™‚

          • nobodysreadingme
            Jan 16, 2013 @ 12:21:14

            The sliver of influence and control is good news, along with the fact that you can be happy.
            so it’s a good thing, at least today, and maybe something to hang onto next bad day you get.

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:15:44

              True! And I will try to hang on to it when the going gets rough the next time around. πŸ™‚

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:17:29

              Good for you.

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:19:13

              At least if I manage to actually DO hang on! πŸ™‚

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:25:39

              Well no guarantees there. But at least you can conceive of the idea of hanging on, and of something to hang on for. That sounds like a small step, but it might be a critical one. Might. I’m not telling you how to feel. Just telling you how it seems from this end.

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:30:33

              Yeah, I agree. Sometimes remembering that there WAS something I wanted to hang on to can help. I wish it weren’t so hard to activate the feelings that go with the knowledge when in the situation, though. But I’m working on it. πŸ™‚

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:34:17

              I know you are working on it, and I admire your bravery. But most of all I admire your resilience. You may not see it all the time, but your ability to bounce back, at least partially, from what life has thrown at you is truly remarkable

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:40:34

              That’s such a kind thing to say, thank you. πŸ™‚ I guess I’m just too stubborn to stay down. That’s probably where a certain ‘fuck you’ attitude comes in handy. πŸ˜‰ But it’s got a LOT to do with having a good family who take care of me, too. They help me bounce back, even though it’s a full time job.

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:54:58

              I have a profound admiration for your mum (she says it’s OK to call her this since I can’t make ‘mom’ stick.)
              when you got in trouble last week with some comments, she stepped into the breach, took the responsibliity off your shoulders. She was fair, and open, and very very firm about what was allowed and what wasn’t.
              She seems like a good person to have on your side.
              You may think you are lucky. Another point of view, and I’m emphatically not saying this is the case, I’m just speculating, is that you deserve it, in a way you may understand. or you may not understand or even accept.
              She paid me a huge compliment too, as I’m sure you saw. I’ll try very very hard not to betray that, but if I say something you don’t like, or unsettles you, tell your mum. Straight off. Don’t even pause.
              I’d rather face her than upset you. I already feel uneasy a lot of the time as i seem to be the only male who bothers to read you. It’s unsettling for me, for different reasons from your possible reasons.
              I guess it comes back to what I said a little while ago. If I don’t read you, I could be seen as simply neglecting you, discounting you, casting you off, seeing you as worthless.
              I really don’t want to do that.

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:07:29

              Yeah, that’s my mom (or mum, I don’t mind either way). She is like that with me, too. Open and fair and calm, but firm and no-nonsense when I try funky stuff. Helps me stay safe. She’s also always *there*, which also helps me stay safe and which makes her my safe person, despite the fact that I struggle feeling safe with people. I feel safe with her.

              As for the speculating, oooh, yeah, the deserving thing. I really struggle with that one. Half of the time I feel like I deserve nothing, the other half of the time I think people are being unfair because they deny me things I deserve… so tricky. Since I don’t really trust my judgement in this matter, I’ll just say thanks, because your saying that I may deserve it is really kind and a good reminder. I lose sight of the realistic versions of things too easily… or would lose sight, if I recognized them properly… sheesh, it’s so complicated!!!

              And yeah, I’ll tell mom if you upset me. Or rather, she’ll know whether I say so or not, because that’s just what she does, noticing what’s up with me and trying to understand the reasons. Hehe! (And while you may not be the only guy who reads and comments, so far you’re the only DECENT guy who I’ve seen do so! That’s pretty cool and I appreciate it a lot. Don’t feel like you HAVE to come here and read and everything, though. If you don’t feel like it, that’s just fine, not, like, neglecting or anything. I can certainly understand if someone doesn’t feel up to reading me, hey!

              (Well, but if you do feel up to reading me, I just posted a little poem that you’d like, maybe. It’s a bit morbid, though. But silly, too. πŸ˜‰ )

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:29:39

              Starting from the bottom. I’m on my laptop, so when I went over to see the poem I couldn’t read it. I’ll check it out tomorrow on a proper monitor where I can change contrast and stuff. I’m so old my deario, my eyesight isn’t what it was…
              πŸ™‚
              I definitely do not feel I have to follow you and comment. I may not always enjoy it, but it’s my choice, not a duty.

              The only ‘DECENT’ guy. That is a real compliment. I can’t tell you how much that means to me. I ain’t perfect by a long shot, but if I had on my tombstone the epitaph ‘He was a decent bloke,’ then if I believed in an afterlife I’d be well chuffed.

              I knew that actually you wouldn’t need to tell your mum. I was just offering you an escape route. I know I bang on about this, but I have a real fear of appearing like some exploitative voyeur. It’s strange, i know, but I do genuinely care how you’re getting on. Just as another human being. It still makes me uneasy. But I reckon as long as I’m open with you, you may be OK with me. And I won’t ask questions. You’ll tell the world when you’re ready. You may not ever be ready. That’s OK. But until you do (or don’t) it’s up to you.

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:40:24

              (Hang on a sec, I’ll add a typed version of the poem, then I come back to reply here. πŸ˜‰ )

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:46:59

              OK

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:55:33

              All done. πŸ™‚

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:50:17

              There, I added the words in neat typing, just so nobody has to miss out on a brilliant piece of art (lol, NOT, but I can dream, right?!).

              As for the rest: I’m glad you don’t feel like you have to, because I’d hate like you felt like you had to read and stuff. And yeah, you come across like a decent guy. That’s while I like chatting with you. I don’t feel like you want to exploit me or like you are being voyeuristic. And I definitely appreciate the openness and that you don’t push me with nosy questions! πŸ™‚ Thanks a lot! (Although, if you do have questions and respectfully ask them, I’d probably be okay. Guess it’s all a matter of how it’s done.)

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 17:59:43

              No questions. Ever. You’ll tell me things you want me to know, and you’ll do that in your own time.
              Gimme a mo to have a look. I’ll be right back

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 18:00:41

              Thank you. πŸ™‚ And yeah, sure, have a look whenever is good for you.

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 18:02:19

              Right got it. It’s funny when you put it in the context of the pictures. which are rather good to be honest. The one of the cat ready to pounce is real
              Very neat.

            • Lola
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 18:04:24

              Thanks! It’s a silly little story that just doesn’t make much sense at all. πŸ˜‰

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 16, 2013 @ 18:06:05

              Makes sense to me. But I’m a weirdo.
              πŸ˜‰

            • Lola
              Jan 17, 2013 @ 10:49:20

              Haha, yeah. Weirdo-to-weirdo usually works quite well. πŸ˜‰

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 17, 2013 @ 11:06:05

              What’s the time where you are? It must be some ungodly hour in the morning, surely?
              I can do weird.as you know from my blog

            • Lola
              Jan 17, 2013 @ 16:45:51

              T’wasn’t all that bad, actually. Mornighish. Early morningish. πŸ˜‰ Haha, and yeah, I know you can do weird. I like that about you! πŸ™‚

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 17, 2013 @ 19:28:34

              I take that as a compliment, the weird thing.
              Thank you

            • Lola
              Jan 17, 2013 @ 19:38:06

              Well, it is! Normal is boring. Positively weird is not. And you’re welcome! πŸ™‚

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 17, 2013 @ 19:41:18

              I still struggle with the weirdo voyeur thing.
              But you reassure me
              You have no idea how much that means to me

            • Lola
              Jan 18, 2013 @ 07:09:54

              You’re welcome! πŸ™‚ The weirdo voyeur thing includes slobbering over what you read for purposes of your own sick little enjoyment. That doesn’t seem to be you, so it seems you’re safe. You just seem like a weirdo much in the way I am: wrong in all the right ways, as Pink put it. πŸ˜‰ So we’re cool! Cool?

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 18, 2013 @ 09:26:44

              Cool as Mr Cucumberhead. I don’t ever slobber. My mum taught me not too. she was quite strict about good manners
              πŸ˜‰

            • Lola
              Jan 18, 2013 @ 16:45:27

              Haha, not slobbering is always a plus! Your mom (uh, mum) taught you good! πŸ˜‰

            • nobodysreadingme
              Jan 18, 2013 @ 20:21:16

              She surely did

  2. prideinmadness
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 13:45:15

    This is exactly how I want to dress my kids when I have them!

  3. Stefanie Neumann
    Jan 16, 2013 @ 16:00:04

    She looks great, Lola! πŸ™‚

  4. nobodysreadingme
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 12:49:32

    some good news for you Lola. There’s a woman here in the library right now who’s 60 if she’s a day, and has blond hair with a pink streak! It looks way cool. So you’ve got a long time to go before you need to worry.
    πŸ˜‰

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Loveβ€”Lifeβ€”OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

