The Tail of the Bird – a silly but tragic poem

Okay, I’m in a somewhat silly mood right now, so I’ll post a somewhat silly poem. With a tragic ending. 😉

I hope you can read my scrawl.

TailOfTheBird

And because the contrast is poor and it’s hard to read, here’s what it says neatly typed out:

The Tail of the Bird
by Lola

the kitty went to sleep
its treasure safe to keep

a bird went by
and since it could fly
at the treasure it would leap
– to steal it

with its beak it took the treasure
but it went beyond its measure
– no real wit

so instead of flying
it learned a lesson in dying.
Tail and all.

(It really only makes sense along with the pictures, though. 😉 )

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. daylily2011
    Jan 17, 2013 @ 03:39:12

    I love the poem! How true it is to real life. I own pets that eat other animals to survive. Frogs, lizards, snakes, fish, etc., I have to make regular trips to the pet store for live food. I’ve had many cats and they always brought home their kill. My dog is one-part terrier and she digs out mole tunnels in my yard until she finds the nest and it’s not a happy ending! Well, not for the mole family but it is a good ending for my lawn!

    • Lola
      Jan 17, 2013 @ 10:46:41

      Thank you! 🙂 The cats probably want to show what good hunters they are. I’m sure the kitty in my poem who got the bird was very proud of herself, too. 😉

C PTSD - A Way Out

A place to check in daily

The Serenity Game

Marriage- The Final Frontier- Humor is the Key

Creative Liar

Because the truth makes me cry.

ladyswan1221

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Simple Pleasures

Visual Poetry, Photography and Quotes

scienerf

So many MonSters so little time

silence of silence

i took a deep breath and listened to the old bray of my heart: i am, i am, i am.

We're All Mad Inhere

Life as it is: Surviving Insanity

Raison d'etre

There must be more than one...

Cupcakes and Anguish

Ramblings of a crazy creative ninja

firefliesandfairies

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Love—Life—OM

Support for survivors of domestic violence, rape and fraud

Beauty from ashes daughter

Words of hope from an abuse survivor

Tackling BPD

My story of recovery from Borderline Personality Disorder, depression and anxiety through self-help. How I learned to like myself and live a happier life.

The Bottom of a Bottle

Trust me, I've been there, I've looked, I've searched and I know now, that there are no answers to be found in the bottom of a bottle or on the edge of a blade! Fighting Hard, Recovering, Rebuilding, REBORN. Moving on from addiction to a new life.

